Day Two: Léogâne to Petit-Goâve

I wanted to go from Léogâne to Grand-Goâve today. This turned out to be too easy; I was there before noon. Let’s see if I can push on to Petit-Goâve!

I'm quite enjoying these Digicel welcome signs as markers of my progress.

I’m quite enjoying these Digicel welcome signs as markers of my progress.

That proved a worthier challenge. The midday heat was at its worst, and I was climbing a really hard hill, so I took a break in the shade of a neem tree. There was a truck broken down, and I talked to the truckers about my trip. I’m getting better at pitching it, and people now consistently understand the loraxian point I am making , rather than thinking I’m just a blan fou (crazy foreigner). Haitian truckers can dig it, but can’t donate, so please take two minutes now to help out with aiding Haitian communities and ecosystems.

Reprieve came at the top of the hill. Three great things happened at once: I’d finished my climb, this view opened up for me….:

….and three kids at the side of the street were selling kachiman. (Kachiman is the fruit of annona squamosa. It’s yummy.) I bought three kachiman for 5 goud each, and they threw in a free one too.

Made it! Welcome to Petit-Goâve

Made it! Welcome to Petit-Goâve

I got to Petit-Goâve around two. I met the owner of the V.I.P. Rooms, a tourist spot, he invited me to hang out tonight, and we talked Haitian history and politics. He gave a plate of food to a homeless guy, saying, “We must show compassion for others.”

Petit-Goâve is a pretty place

Petit-Goâve is a pretty place

IMG_20150726_190850

Watching football from my hotel balcony.

So far, I’ve covered about 70km in two days. If I keep up this pace, I’ll hit Jeremie in six more days, and cover way more than 1000km on the trip.

Leave a Reply

