Day One: Port-au-Prince to Léogâne

So my first day of cycling is complete. One down, about 37 to go. I hit my goal of arriving in Léogâne, but only just.

Reforesting Haiti is good; reforesting Haiti from a moving vehicle is better. Everything is cooler if you do it from a moving vehicle. Please help support reforestation projects both static and dynamic by clicking here.

Welcome to Léogâne! (It looks like Digicel tried to welcome me to Léogâne, then PNH and MINUSTAH decided to block them. I hope to Digicel build a third welcome sign in front of that.)

Welcome to Léogâne!
(It looks like Digicel tried to welcome me to Léogâne, then PNH and MINUSTAH decided to block them. I hope to Digicel build a third welcome sign in front of that.)

The physical challenge isn’t too bad. Cycling in Port-au-Prince was the worst bit; it’s a noisy, polluted city with lots of traffic and chaos.

I stopped for water at a market in Carrefour. Out of the crowd I had attracted, a guy in his forties with unusual reddening hair was their unofficial interviewer. He asked me what I was doing, I explained the project to him – the tour, the reforestation, the fundraising – and the crowd nodded in understanding.

The sun goes down around 7:30 here, and I was about 10k outside Léogâne at 6. I lost some time to a rainstorm and a flat tyre, and had to sprint to get to a hotel on the outskirts of Léogâne before dark. Kesnel – a ridiculously helpful guy in a Réal Madrid jersey – pointed me to the hotel and helped me with the flat.

Many thanks to Reggie, Jessica, Deke, Taylor, Winter, Caleb and the kids of the music class who made the seedbombs, Sophie, and anyone else who has helped me along the way.

Leave a Reply

